How much Compensation for Car Accident Whiplash in Florida
According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, there were over 400,000 car accidents in Florida in 2017. Whiplash just so happens to be the most common injury related to car accidents, but the symptoms are not always instant. Hundreds of thousands of whiplash cases each year result in chronic pain and disability, showcasing just how serious whiplash can be. If you suffer from whiplash after car accident, then you may be wondering whether it’s worth it to pursue a claim.
First, What Exactly is Whiplash?
Your neck is one of the most important, yet most vulnerable parts of your body. Whiplash occurs when your head snaps forward then backward in a quick, forcible motion, causing injury to the muscles and soft tissue of your neck.
Whiplash injuries can be mild to severe in nature. Here are some common symptoms of whiplash to look out for:
- Pain in the neck
- Stiffness in the neck
- Pain with movement of the neck
- Limited range of motion in the neck
- Tingling and numbness in the arm
These symptoms usually develop within 24 hours’ time, but they can also develop in the following days and weeks after a car accident, so it is important to be aware.
If you are in an accident and believe that you may have suffered from whiplash, it is important to seek medical attention immediately. This is not only for your own welfare, but can also serve as evidence to help support any future legal claims.
How much Compensation for Car Accident Whiplash?
Whiplash injury compensation claims can help get you back to the same position you were in before an accident. Often times, whiplash injury can be debilitating, putting you out of work indefinitely. How much compensation for car accident whiplash awarded by the courts is dependent on how serious your whiplash injury was.
The following areas are taken into account when determining the amount of compensation due:
- Preliminary Medical Bills
- Ongoing Medical Treatment (such as physical therapy and chiropractic care)
- Loss of income from job
- Pain & Suffering
- Property Damage
Each state is different when it comes to determining compensation for whiplash after a car accident. Florida law requires that the damage from whiplash be permanent in order to receive compensation. Of course, there are always exceptions to the rule.
Florida’s “no fault” law helps cover mild cases of whiplash. Under this law, every driver is required to carry personal injury protection, which covers up to $10,000 in injuries, regardless of who is at fault in the accident. Most whiplash claims are covered under this protection.
The average nationwide settlement for neck injuries (due to car accidents) is between $10,000 and $20,000. Of course, severe neck and brain injuries can settle for millions of dollars. Whiplash injury compensation claims in Florida have proven results.
Whiplash claims are complex, and the law doesn’t make it crystal clear either. Consulting with an experienced attorney can help you determine if you should take your claim to court. Even though litigation can take longer than taking advantage of a personal insurance protection insurance claim, you may benefit from more compensation in the long run.
An experienced Florida whiplash attorney knows how to navigate the law and can help build your case, so that you can receive the maximum amount of compensation for a whiplash injury after a car accident. Freeman Injury Law attorneys are thoroughly-practiced in whiplash injury cases in Florida because this injury type is so common. We will fight for the settlement you deserve at no cost to you unless we win! Call to schedule a free consultation to discuss your legal rights with our experienced Florida attorneys at 1-800-561-7777.