In the state of Florida, there were more than 235,350 car accidents reported to authorities in 2010. Of these accidents there were close to 30,000 car accidents involving teen drivers. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV), there were close to 100 teenage drivers killed and another 65 teen passengers killed. There were also 11,000 teen drivers and another 8,000 teen passengers injured in these same accidents.
The risk of these accidents is high through the busy holiday season. There was absolutely no change in the number of teen drivers killed in car accidents from 2009 to 2010.
Our Coral Springs accident attorneys bring this issue up because it’s that time of the year again when we see some serious risks for accidents. The holiday travel season is one of the busiest of the entire year. There are more travelers out now than during any other holiday period. In addition, our young drivers are out of school enjoying their winter break. What this means is that they’re spending more time on our road and behind the wheel — giving them higher risks for an accident. For this reason, it’s critical for parents and guardians to talk with the teens in their lives and review safe driving habits. It’s a move to help to keep them safe, to reduce their risks of accidents and to help to keep other travelers safe as well.
Parents are urged to review the state’s Graduated Driver’s Licensing (GDL) program during this time, too. Make sure they’re following all of the rules.
Florida’s GDL Laws, according to the National Safety Council (NSC):
At 15-Years-Old/Learner’s Permit:
-Only drive during the daylight hours for the first three months.
-Can only drive until 10:00 p.m. for the last 9 months of this license.
-Is not allowed to drive without a licensed passenger who is over the age of 21-years-old.
At 16-Years-Old/Provisional License:
-Driving is prohibited between 11:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. unless the driver is traveling to or from work.
At 17-Years-Old/Provisional License:
-Driving prohibited between 1:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. unless they are traveling to or from work.
At 18-years-old a driver can obtain a full and unrestricted license, only after completing the stages listed above.
Parents are asked to make sure that they continue the conversation regarding safe driving habits long after their young driver has received his full, unrestricted license. Because car accidents continue to be the leading killer for Americans under the age of 35, we need to keep this subject fresh and make sure that safe driving habits are a top priority of everyone behind the wheel. Happy Holidays to you and the teen drivers in your family and remember to be safe out there.
If you or a loved one has been injured or killed in a car accident, contact the injury attorneys of Freeman, Mallard, Sharp & Gonzalez, LLC for a free and confidential consultation to discuss your case. Call 1-800-561-7777 today!
More Blog Entries:
Florida Officials Warn of Holiday Roadway Dangers, Fort Lauderdale Car Accident Attorney Blog, December 20, 2012
Accident Risks High through Holiday Season, Up From Previous Years, Fort Lauderdale Car Accident Attorney Blog, December 16, 2012