The next time you’re driving down the road and encounter an emergency response vehicle or an officer on the side of the road, you may want to pay a little better attention. Officials with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) recently announced the launch of a new enforcement effort aimed at drivers who don’t obey the state’s Move Over law.
Throughout January, officials with the Florida Highway Patrol (FHP) and other law enforcement agencies throughout the state will be on the hunt for drivers who crowd these roadside workers, putting everyone’s safety at risk. Troopers will be raising awareness and increasing patrols to make sure that everyone is aware of the state’s law.
Our West Palm Beach car accident lawyers know the Move Over Law is designed to protect Florida police, fire, and other emergency workers when they are on roads and highways. As you approach emergency vehicles you must move out of the lane closest to them if the road has two or more lanes traveling in your direction. Unfortunately, there are not many drivers who are paying attention and who are blatantly disregarding this law.
There have been several collisions involving law enforcement officers on the side of highways while they were conducting traffic stops in Florida. One of those resulted in the tragic death of Deputy Ryan Seguin, a 23-year-old deputy of the Broward County Sheriff’s Office. Deputy Seguin was struck and killed by a passing vehicle on February 15, 2006, while he conducted a traffic stop on Interstate 595 in Broward County.”
Move Over Law:
-On a road with two lanes, you’re required to slow down and travel at 20 mph under the posted speed limit. If you’re driving on a road that already has a 20 mph speed limit, then you’re required to slow to 5 mph.
-When you’re traveling on a road with more than one lane traveling in the same direction, you’re required to vacate the lane that’s closest to the emergency vehicle.
-If you are unable to safely vacate the lane closest to the emergency response vehicle, then you are required to slow down and travel 20 mph under the posted speed limit.
-If you don’t either slow down or move over, you could put yourself and emergency workers at risk. Violating the move over law can result in a fine and points on your license.
“Florida’s Move Over law was enacted in 2002 to safeguard Florida’s emergency responders who are out on the roadways every day working to protect you and your families,” said Col. David Brierton with the FHP.
In 2012, officers throughout the state cited nearly 24,000 drivers for speeding, and issued citations for failure to Move Over topped 1,200 during the month-long enforcement effort.
“Law enforcement officers are out there every day working to reduce traffic crashes and fatalities. Motorists need to know the rules of the road, such as the Move Over law, and abide by them,” said Col. Brierton.
Call Freeman Injury Law — 1-800-561-7777 for a free appointment to discuss your rights.
More Blog Entries:
Broward Residents Hold Key to Safe Driving in 2014, Fort Lauderdale Car Accident Attorney Blog, January 4, 2014
Speed a Major Contributing Factor in Coral Springs Car Accidents, Fort Lauderdale Car Accident Attorney Blog, December 30, 2013